top of page

Examples, Mending, Life!

Two of the best mentors God ever brought into my life- like all of us including me, had clay feet. They made mistakes, had strengths and weaknesses and they were amazing, godly, patient and gracious disciples-of-Jesus makers because of their massively positive example to myself and so many others. Curt and Dawn Mortimer were and are an enduring lesson in wise, humble and loving service.


The fact of all this is that while others were deeply affected by them toward faithful, positive good, the fruitfulness of my, my wife and other's lives are in some cases "well known" -so many more are not widely known and yet years after they both passed we are living out elements of spiritual grace, maturity and kindness as well as wisdom due to their example. May this one day be said of you and I dear reader!


They were called and obeyed God's call but were not "grandstanders" seeing any sort of spotlight.


One enduring memory of them was a many-years practice of rising every morning and sitting together with their coffee, reading scripture and theological studies, chatting with one another back and forth. It was their norm.


Here years later it has become the usual practice most mornings for Wendi and I -a true gift.


So, I wanted to share that and also a cool piece of writing that Wendi did recently. She rarely does interviews or shares much in public, instead focusing on our large-ish family, cooking re. several of our health needs and being an amazing support in both family and local fellowship. On occasion she teaches or preaches when invited but sharing her thoughts in public isn't her go-to as it has long been one of mine.


I've been SO blessed by her love, depth, sharp and grace-filled mind for our entire marriage and am continually thankful for what she thinks, says and does. I've often said in full honesty I've learned more about love from Wendi than anyone.


Ok, here is what she showed me the other morning (as she worked on a family member's jeans!), shared with her permission.


As always, thanks for stopping by. -Glenn





Recent Posts

See All

Love/Holiness

Interesting what super-wide views there are in the world and absolutely so in the churches, among professing Christians of -all- types on...

REMEMBER?!

Yes, there are things we'd best forget. Living in the past of hurts, abuse, our own mistakes, foolish, negative others-hurting and...

The Subversion of Christianity

As usual for me and likely many of my readers, you will and won't agree with myself nor others near regardless of who's doing the...

Comentários


bottom of page