top of page

Higher Education For The Poor Among God's People

What I write now I've said many times over the years but have not shared it publicly in quite this way as far as memory serves...


I've often commented on my distaste for capitalism itself -long story, lots of history and plenty of scripture on that, but that's not what I'm focused on here.


What I have often been very sad about is that so many truly poor folks who work, knock on doors, do what they can to meet their basic needs and those of spouse and/or family simply cannot afford the debt a deeper, more thorough education would saddle them with if they signed up for such.


In areas such as Christian discipleship, theological training, music studies and training I cannot tell you how many people I've met around the world who would jump at the chance for these sorts of things but in the practical sense cannot afford the co$ts involved. Whether they seek a degree or some sort of certificate, systems in capitalistic societies (Western and otherwise) are such that professors, people who might be considered the most learned and experienced in such fields of course have to pay -their- bills as well. I get that. Expense is expense. Cost of living at times hamstrings a more thorough education.


For the most part gone are the days of bartering, exchanging your chicken's eggs or goat milk for lessons. Hunting, gathering and gardening for food, etc., certainly in 98 percent of the industrial world just aren't the way to provide such education or payment so it comes down to systems far too many poor folks and minority people cannot navigate. That means in these fields it's everybody's loss.


I wish I could say I have practical answers/solutions for this continual dilemma but I have but a few.


By now many of my Christian friends are thinking "Glenn, dude, what about faith in God and His provision for these things if in fact He is calling them to in-depth study and service?" Of course! Prayer and asking around for leads, various cheap or closer to zero-cost options are on occasion helpful. The marriage of the spiritual -and- the practical is a reality, I'm up for that.


"So let 'em work 2 or 3 jobs to get through, I did it and know others who have". Yup. And I know countless folks who are still paying for higher education in a wide range of fields 3 decades and more past their schooling.


Getting serious education without incurring debt in the practical sense seems quite do-able IF IF IF those with money share it, give it away -in fact not expecting payback nor should such folks if they don't depend on it for their needs.


Yes, I know about micro-financing for business, etc., and there are creative ways the poor and minority people can be and are being trained but the gap based on who has the money and who doesn't is wide indeed.


Once again the 1 percent -and in particular professing followers of Jesus who have the loot- COULD solve the problem for the poor among His people. Could.


Things to consider for sake of "the least of these" in a capitalistic world.


As always, thanks for stopping by. -Glenn

Recent Posts

See All

ANGER, WRATH

There are good, even great reasons to be upset to the point of genuine anger at injustices done on earth. There is also only one God Who alone has full knowledge, wisdom and perfect judgement regardin

Only "This"...

ONLY -THIS- -glenn kaiser I have known so very many people chasing for a real, deep sense of satisfaction in life -who seemed to never find it. "Only this!" they seem to think and say. If "that" were

Comfort for Others

I do understand how apostle Paul gets a bad rap on any number of "modern" issues. I also think there is far more agreement professing followers of Jesus can have with him than some would bother to not

bottom of page